OVER MY HEAD?

My sister-in-law’s youngest sister is turning 30 this weekend.  I told her sister, impulsively, that I wanted to go to her party.  After I did that, my sister-in-law said to me “do you know what you’re getting into?”.  Hm…um…no.

So, that’s what I do, I often just plunge into things quite impulsively.  Not all the time, but a majority of the time.  Now, having said that, after I decided to party with her, my sister-in-law told me how she parties.  It involves sex, drugs and rock n’roll.  I laughed, she told me she wasn’t kidding – it was going to be hard core partying.  So, I told her I could do the rock n’roll, but no sex and drugs and I’d be fine.  She laughed and just looked at me sadly with that “oh, you’re so in for it”.

And now, with the party approaching, I’m getting a bit nervous.  Why?  Not because I’m afraid of what’s going to happen during the party, nah, that doesn’t bother me.  I’m nervous that I won’t be able to stay awake during the whole party!  The reason I stopped clubbing was because I fell asleep at a club once back in my mid-twenties and that was the day I stopped.  But, I plan on taking a nap, cause the party doesn’t start until 10:30pm.  It’s a late party, but with a nap I should be ready for anything…right.

It’s going to be an interesting, and I’m sure, fun night.  I haven’t been in a club in a long time.  I prefer quieter nights than the pounding sound of a club, and the deafness that follows afterwards, but in the spirit of her 30th birthday I will endear it.  Funny thing is the last time I was at a club was when I was with her in Vancouver.  I went with her and her older sister to this place at the Plaza of Nations and I remember thinking to myself “shit, I’m way too old for this”.

I may be too old for clubbing, but I refuse to fall asleep and embarrass myself again.  😀

Leave a Reply

