WHEN IT RAINS, IT DROWNS

They say that when it rains, it pours, well its drowning right now.  All the people around me are having some kind of crazy problems and I feel helpless.  My only contribution is to listen and help as much as I can.  I realize that sometimes that’s all one can do, but I wish I could do more.

So, one of my friends is having problems with the boyfriend.  We got together after work one day to talk and catch-up.  It was actually nice to talk about something not so serious, not saying being in a relationship isn’t serious business but compared to what’s happening with my other friends this is nothing. 

The gist of it all is that the boyfriend is pulling away from my friend, after being the one trying to push the relationship into a more serious mode.  My friend is conflicted, she feels like they’ve already broken-up, but can’t do the actual breaking-up.  It’s a weird situation and my friend is having a hard time wrapping her head around it.  He doesn’t want to see my friend as much but still wants to see her and take it slower.  This is how I see it – he wants his cake and he wants to eat it too.  Apparently, seeing each other three times a week is too much.  I agree, but that’s just me, I like my independence – I don’t think that’s what he’s thinking – he’s just being a jackass.

I told her what I thought, but I also told her that she has to do what feels right.  I may not agree with what she may do (which I think may be to work it out), but sometimes giving up on a relationship so easily might not be the right thing.  I mean what do I know?  I’m no expert in relationships.  I just go by my gut and if its telling me something I can’t ignore it, irregardless of all the advice I get, I usually go with my gut.  And she should do the same.  What’s right for her may not be right for other people, but it’s her life.

And, being single I have the luxury of telling her to kick the guy to the curb cause I think he’s an ass.  I haven’t invested anytime with this person, but she has and I need to respect that.  Its true that people sometimes give up on relationships too easily without trying to fight for it or work it out.  Sometimes its worth the fight and sometimes its not and no matter what I think, she’ll have to do what is right for her.

3 responses to “WHEN IT RAINS, IT DROWNS

  1. Well certainly agree with the point that she must make her own decisions. Its sometimes really difficult to let go of a relationship that one has been in so seriously and that can last on doing some work. But sometimes its worth to let go earlier than suffering 10 times more. Really tricky question to answer. She has to go with her gut feeling as you said.

  2. The guy sounds like he’s just after the one thing.. having his cake and eatin’ it. Some of us can live with that, but why keep doing the things that make you suffer? peace.

  3. I agree with everything you said…I was in the same situation like three weeks ago…and after awhile things just got better on their own..I went crying to my friends, and thy did give me advice but at the same time they always told me to do what’s right for me…

Leave a Reply

