FRESH AIR

IMG00097-20090524-1608

The weather was fabulous over the weekend.  My friend and I took advantage of this great weather and decided to go on a short hike followed by shaded downtime in the park with a book.  The ducks, as you see above, decided to join us as well.

Fresh air and a good walk always calms the nerves.  I’ve been trying to get my friend to do things for herself, activities that will relax her since she’s been so stressed out by all the crap going on right now in her family.  I’ve been really worried about her because she’s already had one meltdown in front of me and I certainly don’t want a repeat.  So, I’ve been advocating that she absolutely needs to take time out for herself.  I’m a firm believer that if you don’t take care of yourself then you’re no good to the people around you.

I’m guilty of it myself, taking on too much without thought to myself and how it’ll impact me.  Its been a long process, but I’m learning to say “no” and not feeling guilty about it.  There’s responsibility and then there’s living your life – blending the two are difficult, but finding the balance to them is important.  You do what you can do, but don’t kill yourself in the process.  I’m finding that balance, its hard to maintain, but I try my best and I know my friend will get there eventually.

Leave a Reply

