HOT WALKS

Courtesy of Globe and Mail

Courtesy of Globe and Mail

There’s a heat wave going on right now in Toronto.  After months of mediocre weather, we are now finally experiencing summer weather.  Oh, and of course we’re also in the middle of a garbage strike, so we have a hot, smelly city right now.  The last time there was a garbage strike, I believe it lasted for over a month and it was while the Pope was visiting.  Toronto city workers have great timing I tell ya.

Despite this hot weather, I’ve been taking a walk during lunch everyday this week.  I was a bit hesitant since I am not a fan of hot weather and don’t want to go back to work covered in sweat.  Not that I sweat like a pig, as the saying goes, but feeling hot and sticky is not at the top of my list.

Yesterday was super hot, reaching about 30c, but feeling like 40c instead.  I still went for my walk, but I walked slowly with my co-worker.  There are some people who can totally function in humid weather, I’m not one of them and I’m not ashamed to admit it, I know my limitations, but I still went out.  I put on my fishing hat, that I love, and slathered on lots of sunscreen.

The nice thing about these walks is that it gets me out of the office.  And, I’m guaranteed that I get my exercise for the day and some fresh air as well.  I hate being cooped up in the office all day with my ass stuck on a chair, so this is a good way to get myself out and use my lunch hour productively.

Walking with my co-worker is hilarious.  She cannot walk a straight line.  So, we’ll be walking on the sidewalk and as she keeps yapping she starts migrating towards my side of the sidewalk until I’m practically walking on the grass cause I don’t want her leaning all over me.  I’ve had to gently push her to her side many times telling her she’s crowding me.  But, I’ll take a crooked walking companion anyday if it gets me out of the office for an hour.

Leave a Reply

